I’ve been doing the Gerson Therapy for 3 months now and my Mom made the suggestion that I should start a blog which seemed like a great idea so here goes…

Something about Gerson that most people find daunting is the limited options they have to choose from for this lifestyle. Specifically, cutting out salt and processed sugar keeps most people from even wanting to try. To quote my Dad, “Some people would just rather die happy”. After being Pro Gerson for 3 months now, I can say I’ve gotten used to an unprocessed diet with no salt, it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be and I’ve learned how to make foods that make my taste buds and my body happy! If that’s not hope for someone else contemplating this route, I don’t know what is.

First, I loooove salt. So I was determined to find a food that was similarly flavored naturally and safe for me to eat. I’m finding that learning how to flavor foods with other foods instead of relying on an arsenal of spices is pretty important. Unfortunately, all but maybe 15 spices are on the Gerson No-No’s list.

chard

chard (Photo credit: bec.w)

Luckily, I didn’t have to search too hard for my substitute since it was an ingredient in one of the juices I make. I was so excited when I realized that steamed chard stalks have a salt like profile! Sooo, if I want to add a bit of a salt-like flavor I can just steam some chard and that will usually do the trick! The key is to have enough on hand since it is used for my Green Drink bags, which is another subject for another time.