I started Life on Gerson as a blog for my experiences on the Gerson diet. but at this point in my life it is apparent that Gerson is no longer a part of the equation. I feel that this blog does not accurately represent what’s going on in my life so I’ve decided to create a new one likely with a vague title that I won’t have to change later. Anyway I did want to take a moment to reflect on Gerson and what I think it did for me.

I strictly adhered to the Gerson diet for about 8 months. Obviously it did not make my cancer go away in this time nor did it shrink. My cancer still grew though at a slower pace than expected. I had a higher grade cancer so that is pretty impressive in itself though with the type of cancer that I had, it was inevitable that I was going to have to cut it out no matter what I was doing. I tried very hard to gather evidence that would show any kind of proof of the Gerson diet working and though I believe that it did do something I’m very disappointed to report that I have no proof. What I have is a pathology report that shows 20% of my tumor was dead when they cut it out of me. On the surface this would be a good thing as far as evidence is concerned. Why? Well, cancer cells grow uncontrollably and do not go through the cell death process (apoptosis). This is the nature of cancer and why it is called cancer. The whole point of taking chemotherapy is to cause the tumor to die by introducing chemicals so strong they cause cell death indiscriminately in hopes of killing the cancer cells. So, 20% of my tumor being dead by the time that they cut it out without receiving chemotherapy would be impressive if my pathology report didn’t also go on to state that the tumor was wrapped around the main artery in my arm. The doctor who performed the surgery said that my artery was one third of the size that it would normally be when he found it. This could also be another explanation of why my tumor didn’t grow as fast as they thought it would since it was successfully cutting of its own blood supply with its growth.

Very unfortunately after my surgery I was not able to continue the Gerson diet. for the 8 months that I was on the Gerson Therapy I was completely responsible for everything that I was doing and I did not have consistent help. Even though I did not have a committed helper, I was very efficient, disciplined and fully able to maintain the incredible workload by myself which I attributed to the extreme amounts of energy I received from the diet. I worked for Gerson and Gerson worked for me was my motto.

The Gerson Institute actually will not allow you to enter their program without bringing along someone who will help you during the grueling 2 year process. They do this because they warn that if you try to take something like this on by yourself you will fail and I understand why they say this. The Gerson diet takes an incredible amount of energy and discipline just to produce the food and juices on a daily basis. They understand that you need help and not just sometimes but all the time. I just happened to be an incredibly efficient workhorse that got a broken leg half way through the race which killed my efficiency. I have a few friends and family that tried to help as much as they could when they could but unfortunately, this was not enough. I did not have a committed helper who could do the things that I needed on a daily basis and I had to abandon strictly adhering to the Gerson diet pretty immediately after surgery.

I also chose not to do chemo therapy after surgery. 2 months later my CT and MRI scans showed everything was clear so I continued with the low sodium vegan diet that I was able to get. All juicing had stopped by this time since I didn’t have anyone committed to this daily chore and I was unable to do it myself while trying to nurse a paralyzed arm and hand back to any semblance of usefulness.

It’s amazing how much we take having two arms and hands for granted and don’t even think of the trivial things we’re able to do so easily with both that are made so complicated when you only have one. Cutting apples in half, cutting carrot tops off, cutting lettuce heads, washing leaves and de-seeding bell pepper suddenly went from a 1 hr project to 3-4 hours of frustration by the shear absence of an arm (though I shouldn’t say that since my useless arm was very painful and literally in the way since it hung in front of me where the countertop and cutting board is) and I’m not even including the time consuming complication of trying to put any of these things into zip lock bags one handed (which is almost impossible without a good hook that won’t rip the bag). I chose not to be frustrated and in pain for a few hours a day for juice which I kinda regret but man, I was exhausted from surgery for a full month and a half after it so I wouldn’t have had the energy for any of that anyway.

By January my cancer had not only come back in multiple places in my arm but it had metastasized into my lungs in multiple places too. Now, my entire arm will be removed and there’s no chance of saving it (so please don’t ask if there’s anything else they can do because the answer is no) and I’m praying all of the little nodules in my lungs go away. They are all less than 1 cm in size so it’s completely plausible. Could Gerson have prevented this? Could chemo? I say it’s possible on both accounts but there’s no way we will ever know. As far as I’m concerned chemo is what is going to work for me now. Which is why I can no longer do the Life on Gerson blog seeing how I am no longer on Gerson and haven’t been for a while.

So, if you’re understanding the gist by now this is the conclusion to my Life on Gerson as the title to the post suggests. Thank you for following my blog! Look out for the new blog that will likely have my take on fighting cancer with chemo soon. Goodbye for now.

